Breaking Down ‘Love’.

Yesterday, during a very casual conversation with my friend, I came across a post that said that there are seven different kinds of ‘love‘ according to the Greeks. And I found it extremely interesting because the phrase ‘I love you‘ has become so empty and cliché these days. As if the sanctity of the word or emotion holds no meaning whatsoever.


People throw around meaningless ‘I love you’s‘ so much, I’m beginning to think that the concept of love doesn’t really exist in its true sense anymore. And that is incredibly sad for an old-school romantic like me.

So I decided to go ahead and break down the 7 kinds of love for you and also give you my take on them, since we’re on that topic anyway!

giphy (13)

1. Eros-
Eros is the sexual kind of love, that unfortunately, most people seem to value over actual feelings these days. We have become so casual with our sexuality, which can either be a very good thing or a very bad thing depending on the context. Seriously people, does having a meaningful relationship not mean anything anymore?

original (3)

2. Philia-
Philia means a very deep friendship. This is the kind of love you have for your closest friends, or siblings, or even your closest cousins. This is something I can relate to because I pretty much grew up with my cousins and I share a very strong bond with my friends. This is the kind of platonic love that is often underrated.


3. Storge-
Storge is the kind of love that parents and children share. It is hands-down the purest and most beautiful kind of love. And while we’re still on this topic, let me tell you that storge also extends to parents who have adopted kids for whatever reason (if this topic was taboo till now, let me bring your head to the 21st century and tell you that it is very, very normal).


4. Ludus-
Ludus is the playful kind of love, more accurately called ‘puppy love’. It’s where we categorize our high-school romances and crushes. If you thought that it wasn’t really a real kind of love, here’s me telling you that it is. It’s innocent and most often very short-lived. But don’t let that stop you.


5. Agape-
This is the kind of selfless love. It’s when you care about everybody, even though you may not get the same amount of love back. Even though I understand that sending out love and positivity is important, agape can be very emotionally exhausting. So, you know, enter at your own risk or whatever.


6. Pragma-
Pragma is the long-standing kind of love. The forever kind, the happily-ever-after kind, the meant-to-be kind. Whatever you decide to call it. It’s the kind of love everybody wants to experience because of the very idea of it.


7. Philautia-
Philautia or self-love is the most important kind of love because it forms the very basis for all other kinds of love in our life. It is also the most difficult kind of love to develop because there are so many things constantly telling us that we aren’t good enough. But seriously, love yourself. Make time for yourself.


So, there it is! I have broken down the 7 kinds of love to the best of my knowledge, but if you have something to say, you can always leave your opinions in the comments below!

But, since we already know about all these different kinds of love now, don’t stop sending out more and more love into the Universe, and mean it!

Cheerio! Xx

Hey guys! I hope you liked the post. Leave a comment below and let me know what you think, and share this if you find it interesting. You can also contact me on Twitter and Instagram. I’ll look forward to hearing from you.
Yours truly,
The Shubhster.

21 thoughts on “Breaking Down ‘Love’.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: